Love Your Neighbor – But First Let Me See Your Passport

I don’t get political or religious here often and for good reason. Today this is weighing on my heart. As Christians, we are supposed to be better than this. I don’t see this much as a political issue as much as those in power would like to make it one. I see this as a “People are losing their humanity” issue.

As a former Mississippian, today I say this:
Shame on you, Mississippi.

Jesus says: “Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was ill and in prison and you did not look after me”

Statue of Liberty Says:
“Give me your tired, your poor, Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teeming shore, Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

Do we think we know better than Jesus?

Have we all completely forgotten that unless your ancestry is 100% Native American we are ALL descended from immigrants?

I’m beyond tired of the “I have mine and so forget the rest of you” attitude I am seeing displayed more and more.  Jesus commanded us to give, to sacrifice and to help those less fortunate than ourselves.  He didn’t say “Let me check your passport, let me measure the color of your skin, and let me see your voter registration card”.

If we begin turning away people simply based upon their religion, we are no better than those we claim to despise.

I was taught if  you have more than you need, you share.  The strong and rich of this world are commanded to help those less fortunate and weak.  If we stop doing that, we have no right to call ourselves Christian.

Beyond that, even when nobody is watching?  Do the right thing.  Because it’s the right thing.  Adults shouldn’t have to be continually reminded of that.

I very much love my Christ.  These days I’m not so in love with Christianity.

I don’t want to live in a world where we judge first, help second.   Mr. Governor, I’m ashamed that you do.

 

 

