So There’s This Guy…

We’ve all seen the meme, the quotes, the Pinterest pins.

It’s short and sweet.

I’ve looked at them and thought, yes there is this guy who stole *my* heart.

What those quotes don’t do however is expand on the why, and I’d really like to try.

So…

There’s this guy, who stole my heart, who has my heart.

Because he’s kind.  He cares about the things that are important to me.

He’s thoughtful.  He pays attention to the details.

He’s loving.  He truly embodies the phrase “Go big or go home”.  I have never in my life felt so loved as I do by this sweet man who lives 3000 miles away.  That’s one hell of an accomplishment.

He’s my biggest champion and constant support.   He’s there cheering me on when I decide to do something.  He’s there for me to lean on when things don’t go as planned.

He understands that I come as part of a package.  He gets that my daughter is a priority and never once makes me feel guilty for it.

He works hard and is dedicated to making his life and his kids’ lives better.

He’s faithful and trustworthy.  He’s never once given me reason to question that.  If he says he’s going to do something?  He does it.

He’s funny.  Not a day goes by that he doesn’t make me laugh.

He’s ok with me being boring and sloppy.  I can dress up or wear yoga pants and no make up.  He still thinks I’m beautiful.  To quote Martina McBride:  My baby loves me just the way that I am.

His laugh fills my heart with joy.  It’s one of the most beautiful sounds I’ve ever heard.

He understands my fears and anxieties and never makes me feel inferior for them, even if he can’t understand them.

He puts up with me being cranky, crazy, whiny and moody.

His voice is the most soothing sound in the world.  One word from him calms me no matter what chaos the day has heaped on me.

He is, simply put, home.  And if home is where the heart is, then that is most certainly where mine lies.

So there’s this guy…and he has my whole heart for my whole life.  For better or worse.

 

 

 

